Flashback Friday

I am using our first Flashback Friday to share Madison’s birth story–one of my favorite flashbacks.

**This is a post from our old family blog and so it is written as if it just happened, although I really wrote it over a year ago. **

Madison was born on April 20th, 2013 at 5:55 a.m. weighing 7 lbs. 1 oz. with a length of 19 inches. Her head circumference was also 13.5 inches if you wanted to know. I was in labor for about 12 hours and pushing for about 1 hour. It was absolutely, without a doubt, the most incredible experience of my life.

I just finished journaling about every last detail to see what I would include in here and what I just want to remember for myself. I remember hearing once that every woman loves to tell her birthing story and tells it like a battle story–wears it like a badge of honor. After experiencing this, I completely understand why. Every story is so unique–if you listen to a woman who has had many children (like listening to my mom’s 6 different stories) you learn that every child is unique! No two birth stories are alike and so it is fun to hear/tell them. Not only that, but bringing a child into the world is an experience unlike any other I’ve had. This experience brought me closer to Heaven and closer to God. Having Madison in our home has been like having a piece of Heaven here with us. She inspires me to be a better person.

I decided that I didn’t want to get too personal here on the blog but give you a brief synopsis. Before I had Madison, I was looking into a natural birth. I loved the idea for so many reasons and really wanted to try. I didn’t end up going this route, but I really just wanted to say that I am proud of women! I am proud of all of my incredible mama friends who gave birth to their children naturally, I’m proud of all of those who did it with medication, I’m proud of all of those who’ve had C-sections, I’m proud of all of those who have adopted children, I’m proud of all of those who are struggling to have children, I’m proud of all of my single friends, I’m proud and amazed by all of you. We each struggle with different things but I’m grateful to know and love all of you! Women are incredible!!

This time, with this beautiful baby, the epidural was right for me. I went into labor on Friday, April 19th–2 days after my due date. I started having contractions at about 5:00 p.m. and we felt they were finally regular enough that we could go to the hospital at about 8:00. When we got there I was dilated to a 5 1/2 and they admitted me. I got the epidural and I think the anesthesiologist was great because I could still feel/move my legs. I was in labor for awhile–the epidural slowed the labor down and so they also put me on Pitocin and broke my water. I’m grateful for those who were at the birth for hanging around at such crazy hours and I’m grateful for Autumn for talking to me until it was time to start pushing. At around 5 a.m. on April 20th, I was ready to push! I pushed for about an hour and Madison was born at 5:55 a.m.!

The most incredible feeling I’ve ever had was when they placed her on my chest right after she was born. I felt such a deep and powerful love for this tiny baby. I also felt a deeper love for her father–my amazing husband. I love them both so much and am so thankful to my Father in Heaven for the gift of eternal families. I am privileged to be Madi’s mother and I hope I can be the example she needs and that I can help guide and direct her to be woman she was meant to be.

One last belly shot! This was Week 40 exactly–April 17th, my due date.

In labor here with my mom and sister Melissa, skyping with my sisters Elaina and Heather.

Here I am going through some contractions on the exercise ball–I thought this made the contractions a lot better!

We got checked into the hospital and set up! We are ready to have this baby!

This was when Madison was first placed on me. This was the most incredible feeling I have ever had.

The happy and proud father.

She came into this world very alert and wide-eyed. Welcome Madison!

Our family. I wish I could post pictures of all of the wonderful family and friends who came to visit, but that would make this post reaaallly long.

Oh, so kissable!

For more information about my beliefs on eternal families visit LDS.org or Mormon.org

Leave a Reply

