Confessions of a Bibliophile

Bibliophile is a pretty great word. It makes someone who loves books sound like the most mysterious person alive. Which I probably am. It is pretty mysterious when a woman can only take about 30 minutes of mall shopping but could probably spend about 3 hours in a book store. 

This is why I shudder at the idea of a paperless world in which all books are in electronic form. I have nothing against kindles/tablets/etc.–I own one myself. But, a world without book stores is too much. Can anything really beat opening a book and feeling its pages? Or the smell of a book store or library? I don’t think so. 

As a former elementary school teacher, I am especially in love with children’s books. I love them. Can’t get enough of them. Some people dream of a huge master bedroom or a jewel-encrusted pool (people dream about that stuff, right?) but I talk to Kyle about our future library. I want floor to ceiling bookshelves on every wall with a special corner that is full of comfy chairs and bean bags, with a huge mural on the wall behind it beckoning my grandchildren to come sit so I can read them stories. We will spend countless hours reading stories and eating cookies and loving every minute of it. They will come into my home and immediately run to my library where they’ll find rows upon rows of picture books and chapter books and every book they could dream of. 

I have taken the liberty of finding some images from Pinterest of my library for you. 

libraryIsn’t this AMAZING?? I want about 1.3 million times more books than this, but you feel like you’re outside!!! Yes, I think I’ll have a whole wall like this please. 

library 2

A ladder and a nook are pretty dreamy in a library

library 3

So, this is really, really, really awesome.

(Just because I love to read doesn’t mean I can think of a better adverb than “really” three times in a row.) 

library4

Lovely. 

So there you have it. Books, books, books. 

One thought on “Confessions of a Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

