Author Spotlight: Mo Willems

Can I get some mo’ Mo Willems? Okay, sorry cheesy. But I was contemplating making it the title and I didn’t, so you can at least give me that. Are these Madi’s favorite books? No. I mean, I don’t think so. Like I’ve said, right now she is mostly interested in pointing out things on a page. I can never exactly tell what she is or isn’t going to like. I mean, I can generally bet on a book with big, block pictures and little text (especially one about animals). But one time I had a book that was mostly all pictures of animals and she didn’t like it and yet she could look at the Tangled storybook all day long (and there is a lengthy paragraph on every page).

If Madi doesn’t like a book, she will normally let me know by closing the book while I’m reading mid-sentence and say “bye-bye.” I will sometimes pick up the book again later, because maybe she just wasn’t in the mood but sometimes there are specific books she will just not let me get past the first couple pages with.

Mo Willems’ books are hit and miss for her at this stage in life, but I just know she’s going to love them in a year or two. And even when she closes the book on me, I read it all by myself later. Multiple times. Mo Willems is just hilarious. Mo Willems is like the Pixar of books–he adds really subtle, adult humor and so it’s more fun to read his books to your children. (p.s. I mean adult as in not child, not adult as in adult. When did adult become a suggestive word?)

He has some popular series–especially his “Pigeon” series, but those aren’t my favorite. My absolute favorite (out of the ones I have read so far) is:

goldilocks

Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs — This book is hilarious. My husband and I were both laughing out loud, which is a pretty good sign

.mo willems

That Is Not a Good Idea — This is kind of like a silent movie in a book, with a surprise ending.

leonardo

Leonardo, the Terrible Monster–  We all love cute monsters.

edwina

Edwina, The Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct– Someone is really bent on letting Edwina know she’s extinct, but she won’t listen! This book is delightful.

These are good books you guys. If you don’t trust me, you can go to your local library and read them. You should really trust me though.

P.S. In case you trust me so much that you want to buy them just from looking at their covers, you can click on the picture and it will take you to the Amazon site! I figured out how to do that all by myself–pretty proud.

P.S.S. Buying them won’t give me any money, but it will give Mo Willems money. He is a good writer & illustrator, so I think that’s a good thing.

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Mo Willems

Leave a Reply

