What We’ve Been Reading: October 2014

I’d like to feature books we’ve been reading recently–especially books that we really love!

categorical universe

The Categorical Universe of Candice Phee by Barry Jonsberg

A delightfully quirky middle-grade fiction. This reminds me of the book Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine in great ways (I highly recommend Mockingbird). The narrator is a very unique personality and she loves everyone around her. The whole story she tries to help her family and friends (she considers everyone her friends, even those who are nasty to her) solve their problems. The book also tackles serious subject matters–death of a family member, depression, family feuds, etc.

el deafo

El Deafo by Cece Bell (Author) and David Lasky (Illustrator)

As soon as I finished this book, I put it on my “to buy” list. It is a brilliant memoir written in a graphic novel format (like a comic book). It is about the author’s own experiences with hearing loss and what challenges she faced growing up. I think the author does an excellent job of showing us ways we may unintentionally hurt those who are different from us. Highly recommend!

little elliot

Little Elliot Big City by Mike Curato

This was another book that I put on my “to buy” list. This book is perfect for Madi (17 months) right now. The pictures are beautiful and there is just about a line of text on each page. I love that it is a book she enjoys, there are things for her to point out, and yet there is still a story (which means I enjoy it too!) Check it out from your local library, you won’t be disappointed. Also, Elliot is the cutest elephant I’ve ever seen and I want him for a pet.

what if everybody did that

What If Everybody Did That? by Ellen Javernick (Author) and Colleen M. Madden (Illustrator)

Madison doesn’t love this book yet, but it is a great book for preschool age kids or older. It helps a child start to think about how his actions can affect other people by helping him to visualize what would happen if everybody did the same thing he was. I think this would be a great conversation starter. I can also imagine using it in a preschool or lower grade classroom (or maybe even upper elementary school) to spark an assignment of creating your own “what if everybody did that” scenario.

pumpkin soup

Pumpkin Soup by Helen Cooper

We checked out several books with a Fall theme recently. This was one of my favorites. Madi likes to make duck sounds and cat sounds while we read it–she also makes some kind of sound for the squirrel and I just encourage it because I have no idea what sound a squirrel makes. This is a sweet story about friendship with beautiful illustrations.

Reading to your child isn’t only a fun way to bond and create memories together, but it is one of the strongest indicators for academic success (across socioeconomic statuses!) **See Jim Trelease’s The Read-Aloud Handbook. Go to your local library and check some of these fun books out!

Leave a Reply

