Flashback Friday–Kyle Edition

This week the husband is making an appearance on the blog. My mom says that I am about the same age as Madison (1.5 yr) in this picture with my sister Brittany. There are two stories from  this picture. First, this picture proves that I had a lazy eye. About a year after this picture was taken, I had a surgery to correct it. Somehow I have a memory of the day of the surgery. I don’t know if it’s a true memory or a trick memory. It might be a trick. Regardless, this is how it goes. My mom was walking with me in the parking lot to the medical building and she asked me to look at a car and tell her what color it was. I told her that it was a red car. Later when I was with the doctor, I reported to him what I saw while looking at some slides on a projector screen. I also have a memory of the surgeon snipping something by my eye. I don’t even know if I can remember things from when I was two. I’ll have to ask my mom if I was even awake during the surgery–I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be awake for that right?

brittany 015

The second story is about how I am holding Gumby in this picture. And in honor of Gumby, here is a link to a video of the Gumby theme song from 1967. While you listen to the words, imagine my dad singing them. Because that’s what I hear every time.

“He was once a little green slab of clay. Gumby!
You should see what Gumby can do today. Gumby!
He can walk into any book, with his pony pal Pokey, too.
If you’ve got a heart then Gumby’s a part of you.”

This second picture makes my feel better about Madison’s faces in our recent family photos. What if Brittany still did that in her family photos? You should try it Britt. I would also like to point out that I am holding a stick just like Madison was in some of her recent photos.

brittany 016

 Thanks for the pictures mom!

One thought on “Flashback Friday–Kyle Edition

Leave a Reply

