Reading with Baby: Lead by Example

football-461343_1280

Have you guys seen this? (Disclaimer: It’s 11:30 pm and I’ve been searching for free stock photos of sports fans and this is the first one that was free and it was randomly somehow my alma mater? Awesome. Also, I really wanted this picture to be of REALLY intense sports fans (picture painted faces, screaming, etc.) but this mohawk thing will work.

When I ask if you’ve seen this, what I mean is, have you seen super intense sports fans? Answer: yes, of course. Have you seen super intense baby sports fans? I have. It’s adorable.

Why is it so cute and also a little bit funny? Because I think something in all of us recognizes that toddlers don’t seem to naturally form strong opinions about sports teams (Although I can imagine Madi getting pretty intense if there was an Elmo Team and a Minnie Mouse Team Battle). When toddlers are passionate about sports teams, it seems to generate from something they are naturally passionate about–their parents. Children strive to emulate their parents. Pretty often, you can find toddlers acting the same way their parents do, talking in similar expressions, loving the same things they do, etc.

Parents play a huge role in shaping what activities their children like and what they will spend their time doing. Toddler see, toddler do.

Reading
Does she look too young to be a mother? Well, imagine she’s the mother of this baby.

Children need to see us reading! But I’ve talked about that before. Even more than them seeing us reading, they need to see us excited about reading!

Imagine every good teacher movie– what do they have in common? A teacher who is passionate about the subject they are teaching. Their passion becomes infectious and their students overcome great obstacles through learning.

Dead Poets Society
We miss you Robin Williams!

 Imagine the teacher who was most influential in your life. If you think about it, you will probably notice that the teachers that made a difference in your lives were passionate about what they taught. Passion goes a long way in influencing others. I LOVED history in 3rd grade (so did my teacher), I LOVED science in 4th grade (so did my teacher), I LOVED writing in 5th grade (so did my teacher), and on and on.

If you want your kids to love reading, you should love reading. Find books you enjoy. Get on goodreads.com. Join a book club. As your children notice you reading, talking about the books you’re reading, and loving it, your attitude will rub off on them.

Maybe, like me, you will be happy to pass on a reading habit and hope that it can make up for the love of chocolate habit. Sorry Madison! There were too many examples of passionate chocolate eaters in my young years. And chocolate is really, really good.

Leave a Reply

