5 Recent Recipe Wins!

So, I’ve heard that you all like to eat. Me too. My last post about food seemed to be a favorite for some of you, so I thought I’d share some of our more recent finds. Let’s start with some breakfast, shall we?

banana-pancakes2

Banana Pancakes by Once Upon a Chef

Yes. These are tasty. My husband, a self-professed pancake hater, loves these. We like to make the batter and stick it in the fridge and make a few pancakes every morning–it lasts a few days with just the three of us.

coconutchicken-3

Crunchy Coconut Chicken Fingers with Peach Honey Mustard by How Sweet Eats

I made these out of desperation for my toddler to eat something, anything! (When I say I made these, what I mean is Kyle made these. I do not like raw meat. I made the sauce though, so yeah.) Chicken fingers seemed like a safe bet and she is REALLY into dipping things right now. It also had the word coconut in it and so I had a feeling I would be on board. Kyle and I loved these probably about 50 times more than Madi did, which is saying a lot because Madi really liked them too. We used chicken thighs instead of tenders and it’s not really peach season around here, so we just omitted the peach and added more honey and some mayonnaise to sweeten the mustard.

baked-spaghetti-squash-with-spinach-2

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Cheddar Cheese & Spinach by Vegetarian Gastronomy

This is everything spaghetti squash aspires to be and more.

slow-cooker-creamy-tomato-basil-soup4-srgb.

Slow Cooker Creamy Tomato Basil Tortellini Soup by Cooking Classy

I’ve probably made this 3-5 times the last few months, which is a lot of times for us. Tomato soup + cheese tortellini is just…good. If you factor in the ease of this meal, you will want to make it again and again too. If fresh basil is expensive where you are right now, you can use dried too. We did and it still tasted sublime. I just kind of eyeballed it, but I think the general rule is tsp dried for every tbsp fresh. Since we’re only three people, we actually only used 2 cans of tomatoes and adjusted the recipe accordingly.

tamale-pie-426x640

Tamale Pie by Cooking Classy

We really like tamales over here. Have you ever made them though? They’re really time consuming. Kyle’s family has a New Year’s Eve tradition of making tamales, which I think is awesome! This might be an altered version so that we can still have the tamale taste without all of the tamale work. The crust is made from masa harina which gives it the tamale taste. We have never made these in ramekins, we just always opt for a larger casserole dish and it works.

Happy Cooking friends!

**Like last time, none of these pictures are mine. They are all taken by the owners of the cooking blogs the recipes are from.

10 thoughts on “5 Recent Recipe Wins!

      1. Hey Kate, how are you doing?
        Was going through your blog, juz loved your blog “Lord, is it I”
        Merry Christmas 🙂

        Like

      2. Hey Kate, you know what I’m thinking of preparing Slow Cooker Creamy Tomato Basil Tortellini Soup tomorrow as per your recipe.
        Wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy new year!

        Like

      3. Hey Kate,
        I tried a variation of Tortellini.
        Parmesan Tortellini Bites, so crisp, so crunchy…
        Also liked your blog, “Some Thoughts on Repentance”.

        Like

Leave a Reply

