Family Traditions: Christmas Eve 2014

IMG_7012

Christmas is a special time of year. It has always been my favorite holiday. I love the magic in the air. I love the kindness and service. I love the decorations, the food, the fun. I love the emphasis on showing love and appreciation for family, friends, and even strangers. It seems only appropriate to celebrate Christ’s birth by showing love for others.

IMG_7011

Sharing this holiday with Madison is one of my favorite things about being a parent. I love getting to see her excitement and her joy.

IMG_7019

IMG_7016

IMG_7015

Since books are something we believe in, we decided to make our Christmas Eve tradition revolve around them. We purchase two books for Madison–one that she will enjoy reading now– this year, Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes by Mem Fox–and another that she will continue to enjoy as the years go on–this year, The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne. We then take her nicer book and both write letters to her in the front cover. When she leaves home, she will have at least 18 books to take with her that each have special notes from her parents inside of them.

IMG_7006

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve with a trip to a Children’s Museum in the morning, a delicious dinner, a reading of the Christmas story in Luke Chapter 2, lots and lots of singing, Madison opening her Christmas Eve gifts, and Grandma W reading ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas. 

I’m grateful for my family. I’m grateful for this Christmas season. I’m grateful for Jesus Christ–whose birth we celebrate. I recognize that Christmas can be a hard time for many people. For those who have lost loved ones or have experienced sorrow or tragedy in other ways, it can be an especially difficult time. In Isaiah, at the time of Christ’s birth, we are told that “the people that walked in darkness have seen a great light” (Isaiah 9:2). I know this is true not only in ancient Israel, but today. Christ can help us see light through our dark days. I pray that all of us, no matter our personal circumstance, will be able to feel the peace of the Savior who truly is the “light of the world” (John 8:12).

2 thoughts on “Family Traditions: Christmas Eve 2014

Leave a Reply

